## **Court Information Release**



UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS EASTERN DIVISION 219 SOUTH DEARBORN STREET CHICAGO, IL 60604

Release Date: October 17, 2012

Contact:

Joel Daly (312) 435-5693 (phone) (312) 554-8239 (fax) joel\_daly@ilnd.uscourts.gov

## WESTERN DISTRICT MAGISTRATE JUDGE MERIT SELECTION PANEL APPOINTED

ROCKFORD- Chief Judge James F. Holderman announced that he today appointed a Magistrate Judge Merit Selection Panel to recommend qualified candidates to replace the magistrate judge assigned to the Western Division of the Northern District of Illinois. Earlier this year, United States Magistrate Judge P. Michael Mahoney announced that he plans to retire on December 31, 2012 after 36 years of service on the court. He has agreed to continue to work on a recalled basis if needed.

Under the law, the Panel must submit its report by January 15, 2013 and provide a list of the final candidates for appointment to the position. By regulation the Panel must include at least two non-lawyers. The final appointee will be chosen by the judges of the District Court.

The Honorable Val Gunnarsson, Chief Judge of the 15<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit in Carroll County will serve as the Chairperson of the well-qualified and diverse Panel. The other members of the Panel are Deputy Chair Herbert H. Franks, Sara M. Cliffe, Earl Dotson Jr., Mike Dunn, Patricia Fong, Thomas Laughlin, Glenn Schorsch, and Linda M. Zuba.

"The magistrate judge assigned to the Western Division of the Northern District of Illinois is historically one of the busiest magistrate judges in the country," said Chief Judge Holderman. Chief Judge Holderman continued, "Magistrate Judge Mahoney has served the people of the Northern District of Illinois with great distinction for more than three and a half decades and is considered one of the finest magistrate judges in the country." The Court looks forward to receiving the Panel's report in January and hopes to select the new United States Magistrate Judge in time for the final appointee to take the bench in April 2013.